The Importance of Community as a Cancer Patient

1000312_10151992974174105_637773788_n
It has been almost exactly a week to the hour since I pulled up into the parking lot as a Camp Bluebird newbie. Since my diagnosis over two years ago, I’d not checked out any peer support beyond a few phone calls from LLS First Connection program. One of those callers, Nancy told me about Camp Bluebird and told me I really should come. I missed my first opportunity but did go to the recent fall 2013 gathering. I can’t say enough good things about it. It’s hard to explain but being near and having fun with so many others who are also fighting against and winning against cancer was the ultimate empower-er. That’s all of us above; I’m in the back row almost all the way to the left in the picture. About half are cancer survivors. The other half are volunteers. I love these people for who they are and what they’re doing.

Lesson learned. Surviving cancer with your sanity isn’t a game for lone rangers.

One response »

  1. I am so thrilled that you went. I knew you would enjoy if you just went. I am glad you have been singing like a bluebird. I love you Don because you ” Wont back down”!

Comments Encouraged

