What about the kids?

shot_1319391893512

This one’s been weighing on my heart a lot lately. Even though I am only now feeling the physical effects of advancing CLL and facing treatment, I’ve had nearly two years to think about it. Sheila and I are filling an almost parent-like role for our two grandkids (5 & 7) right now; we take care of them sometimes 6  days a week. We feed them, pick them up from school, put them to bed and make sure they get their baths. At this point, they really have no understanding of my condition and I have no good ideas about how to share any of it with them.

slide4a

That’s my Grandpa & me. He died from a malignant brain tumor when I was 3 (back in 1967) and I had no idea that he was sick. All I knew was my best friend was suddenly gone and it deeply and negatively affected me for many years. I certainly don’t want to do that to them but don’t want to scare them or overwhelm them unnecessarily.

How do you talk to kids about scary stuff like cancer?

2 responses »

  1. Having lost my paternal grandfather to kidney failure when I was still very young, and being a grandparent myself, this, honestly, scares the crap out of me every day. We never know when our time is up. The song “If Tomorrow Never Comes” by Garth Brooks, always comes to mind. The only thing I find comfort in is that every day of my life, I make sure she knows I love her and I document our time together in pictures and videos. I am typing this, in fact, as she and I are in a tent in my backyard having a camp out. If tomorrow is my last day, I know would miss watching her grow up, but I am thankful that we have the technology to allow her to grow up with the memories of our fun times together. That allows me to not be worried about having to bring a hard reality to her at such a young age (she’s 4).

    I will be keeping you in my prayers, asking for meds you are on now to make this a non-issue. 🙂

    EdP.

Comments Encouraged

